Product Options

About "Amends"

Them Are Us Too was formed in the Bay Area by friends Kennedy Ashlyn and Cash Askew in 2012 after meeting at school. Fast friends with an appreciation for the same music and art, they recorded a demo and began performing intimate and memorable gigs on the west coast. They quickly gained a cult following as word spread about their youthful, innocent, and fresh take on the revered 80s dream pop and shoegaze sound, and Kennedy Ashlyn’s voice was immediately compared to Elizabeth Fraser, Kate Bush, and Harriet Wheeler – while Cash Askew’s washes of intricate guitar felt akin to Robin Guthrie, Ronny Moorings, or Kevin Shields. Their music felt familiar but new, nostalgic, and heartbreaking, with songs delivered simply and earnestly.  They betrayed their age (both only 21 when they signed to Dais Records) by releasing one of the most incredible debut albums of 2014, Remain.

Tragically, Cash Askew passed away in the Ghost Ship fire in Oakland in December of 2016, sending a shockwave of loss through our community.  While Kennedy Ashlyn would eventually emerge as a solo artist through her project SRSQ, there were unfinished Them Are Us Too recordings and demos that Kennedy and those close to Cash felt deserved be heard in her memory.

Kennedy returned to the studio with producer Joshua Eustis (Telefon Tel Aviv), Sunny Haire (Cash’s stepfather), Matia Simovich (INHALT), and Anya Dross (Cash’s girlfriend) to complete unfinished demos and sketches, write new compositions and honor Cash Askew.

The result is Amends, an album of tragic beauty and depth that pulls at emotions and inspires. 

In Kennedy’s own words:

"Amends is a collection of songs that would have been the second Them Are Us Too record. This release is an amendment to our catalogue cut short; a final gift to our family, friends, and fans who have supported us for the past 5 years. Amends is a collaborative effort between Them Are Us Too and some of Cash’s dearest friends and family, culminating in a final “thank you” and “goodbye.” Nothing will ever compensate for the loss of Cash, but as we struggle to put together the pieces of what the world is now, what life is now, I hope this record can help to fill in the gaps. And give us some amount of peace."



  • 0
  • 0
    Grey Water
  • 0
  • 0
    No One
  • 0
    Could Deepen
  • 0


  • Clear Vinyl LP | 100 edition
  • Clear Green Vinyl LP | 400 edition
  • Clear Green Vinyl LP | 400 edition
  • Seafoam Green Vinyl LP | 400 edition
  • Black Vinyl LP
  • Compact Disc
  • Digital

Release date

June 29, 2018

Catalog No.