"The Acrobat"


Product Options

About "The Acrobat"

Since the 2014 release of Philadelphia outfit Death of Lovers's debut EP Buried Under a World of Roses, many wondered if a full length follow-up for the band was even possible – largely due to the extensive touring schedule of Domenic Palermo, Nick Bassett, and Kyle Kimball’s other band: Nothing. But between 2016 and 2017, the four-piece band (that includes keyboard player Cecilia Liu) were able to find the time to focus, demo, write, and carve out a stunning new direction and polished sound for the band. The Acrobat represents that labor of love, and Death of Lovers have created one of the most eye-opening alternative records we’ve heard in years.

Thoughtful compositions weave driving synths, drums and guitars through lock-step rhythm and nostalgia before shattering into intricate and spacious instrumental breaks. There is a welcome complexity and depth to the tracks, which dance between moody and sweeping to sparkling and bright – creating a beautiful contrast to the honest and dark lyrics.

On the album single “The Absolute”, Domenic’s vocals (accompanied in harmony by drummer Kyle Kimball) take on the topics of selfishness and greed - “All in all is trembling fear – bound to fall on bludgeoned bell rung ears.  A senseless world of worth, deceived by needing, and the crow who perches on your tongue – reminding you it won’t be too long.”

“Lowly People” is the band’s answer to PULP’s “Common People”, cast through the lens of their own upbringing: the streets of Kensington, Philly – where “Broken glass shimmers like the stars, summer air breeds a certain violence.”

Somehow, The Acrobat achieves warm familiarity while sounding completely new.  While the tracks could easily have been included on the soundtrack to every one of your favorite 80s films, there is a fresh perspective and process evident in the songwriting that rewrites the “post-punk” rulebook.



    • 0
      Orphans Of The Smog
    • 0
      Here Lies
    • 0
      Ursula In B Major
    • 0
      The Lowly People
    • 0
      Perfect History
    • 0
      Quai d'Orsay
    • 0
      Divine Song
    • 0
      The Absolute


    • Clear Vinyl LP | 100 edition
    • Clear / Black Swirl Vinyl LP | 200 edition
    • Red Vinyl LP | 200 edition
    • Yellow Vinyl LP | 300 edition
    • Blue Vinyl LP | 400 edition
    • Black Vinyl LP
    • Compact Disc
    • Digital

    Release date

    October 25, 2019

    Catalog No.