"Presents Black Light District: A Thousand Lights In A Darkened Room"


Product Options

About "Presents Black Light District: A Thousand Lights In A Darkened Room"

During the transitional period in which Coil’s primary leadership (Peter “Sleazy” Christopherson and John Balance) reorganized their creative direction by taking on new membership in the group through their inclusion of Drew McDowall, Coil took a drastic turn towards the metaphysical unknown. Employing the subtle handiwork of Coil’s “real life” members, as well as cleverly guised aliases and spiritual collaborators, the band chose to filter their identity through a the nome de guerre, Black Light District, setting the precedent of Coil’s future exploration of otherworldly influence.

Recorded during the Winter of 1995/96, Black Light District leans more on their formal avant-garde pursuits and academic interests rather than their industrial pedigree resume. Starting off with an obvious nod to John Cage with their introductory “Unprepared Piano”, the tone is prepared in exactly the same way… unpredictable. Conceptually abstract, Black Light District shows Coil’s old guard disregarding the pop rhythms found on previous albums, such as Love's Secret Domain, and fully embracing their experimental electronic trajectory. Subtle patterns of looping melancholy and malaise are placed delicately underneath ghostly electronic timbre. Approaching their creative method as something from the beyond, another realm in which sounds blur and performers seemingly appear from the ether.

Dais Records is proud to announce the official reissue of Coil presents Black Light District - A Thousand Lights in a Darkened Room. Remastered by engineer Josh Bonati and supervised by Coil's Drew McDowall, the double LP vinyl release is packaged in a beautiful matte 24pt stock gatefold jacket.


  • 0
    Unprepared Piano
  • 0
    Red Skeletons
  • 0
    Die Wölfe Kommen Zurück
  • 0
    Refusal Of Leave To Land
  • 0
    Stoned Circular I
  • 0
    Stoned Circular II
  • 0
    Green Water
  • 0
    Cold Dream Of An Earth Star
  • 0
    Blue Rats
  • Scratches And Dust
  • London's Lost Rivers
  • Chalice


  • Clear Vinyl 2xLP | 200 edition
  • Clear Red Vinyl 2xLP | 500 edition
  • Clear Yellow Vinyl 2xLP | 500 edition
  • Clear Blue Vinyl 2xLP | 600 edition
  • Yellow / Black Splatter Vinyl 2xLP | 100 edition
  • Cloudy White Vinyl 2xLP | 200 edition
  • Clear Purple Vinyl 2xLP | 400 edition
  • Black Vinyl 2xLP
  • Compact Disc
  • Digital

Release date

May 25, 2018

Catalog No.