SRSQ (pronounced  seer-skew) is the solo project of Kennedy Ashlyn  (vocalist/keyboardist of Them Are Us Too). Creative voids aren’t filled, but rather holes left that push the edges of the present into new realms of consciousness. SRSQ’s pulse began after the death of Kennedy’s closest friend and TAUT  collaborator Cash Askew, a casualty in the sudden and tragic 2016 Oakland Ghost Ship Fire. Driven by loss, SRSQ became the vehicle for Kennedy’s transformative process, exploring nuance, nostalgia, reflection, and reconciliation, manifesting in the aural landscape of Unreality.

As a debut, Unreality is entrance into a new form of storytelling, traversing the present while pulling from a deep swath of experience, immersion, and sound. Like the impulse it pulls from, each song evokes the complex duality of meditation—where simple intersects with infinite. Ambient synthesizers that approach harshness, relentless arpeggiations act together with Kennedy’s vocals as a lush weapon, weaving cloudlike fables over orchestration that’s familiar and foreign. Trance-like at times, yet always rooted in cadence and structure, the synesthesia of sound and feeling takes cues from the delicate miasma of Cocteau Twins, My Bloody Valentine, or Dead Can Dance, using their example as the ground floor for building a new temple of frequency. Kennedy proves an adept architect of rhythm, using sequenced electronics as a deep backbeat that allows the harrowing beauty of her vocals to lead the journey.

Produced by Matia Simovich of Inhalt, Unreality is simultaneously crisp and full, each tone and note occupying its own unique sonic world - grief butted against power, tracked to a heavy heartbeat.

Release Date: October 26, 2018


  • Silver Vinyl LP | 100 edition  (sold out)
  • Milky Natural PVC Vinyl LP | 100 edition   (sold out)
  • Transparent Blue Vinyl LP | 400 edition   (sold out)
  • Black/Clear Vinyl LP | 400 edition   (sold out)
  • Black Vinyl LP
  • Compact Disc


  1. Prelude
  2. The Martyr
  3. Cherish
  4. Procession
  5. Mixed Tide
  6. No Reason
  7. Permission
  8. Only One