Them Are Us Too



Them Are Us Too (Kennedy Ashlyn and Cash Askew) were a musical duo from the California bay area that originally gained a cult following within independent music circles as a young, new take on the revered "4AD sound" of dreamy pop anthems. With a nod to 80’s shoegaze sensibilities, Them Are Us Too created songs about tragedy and loves-lost that drew devoted listeners to their nostalgic and innocent sound. Kennedy Ashlyn's vocals have been repeatedly compared to Kate Bush, Harriet Wheeler, and Elizabeth Fraser, with a pitch-perfect octave range carrying songs gracefully between optimistic joy down to undisturbed melancholia - all within one moment of verse. Guitarist Cash Askew painted a layered and complex backdrop using signature reverberation and washes of stringed ambient tones, akin to Robin Guthrie, Ronny Moorings and Kevin Shields.

Perfectly executed songwriting with effortless simplicity and vernal drive, Them Are Us Too’s debut album, Remain, rivals the comparative magic behind the early 4AD catalog and zeitgeist of early Creation Records. Massive, seraphic sound and heartbreaking nostalgia crafted into 8 songs of uncompromising and immaculately orchestrated beauty. Them Are Us Too masked their irrepressible youth beneath limitless imagination and unparalleled talent, dedicating themselves fully to their uncanny musical creation.

In December of 2016, founding member Cash Askew tragically lost her life in the Ghost Ship fire in Oakland, CA. Kennedy Ashlyn would later release their remaining material on the Amends LP, and continue musically under the name SRSQ. The loss of Cash was an immeasurable tragedy for everyone that knew her, and TAUT's debut album remains a shining example of her exemplary talent and beauty. We love you Cash.

Remain was recorded and produced by Joshua Eustis (Telefon Tel Aviv, Black Queen, Second Woman, Sons of Magdalene).

Release Date: March 24, 2015

  • Clear Vinyl LP | 100 edition (sold out)
  • Clear Purple Vinyl LP | 200 edition (sold out)
  • Clear Blue Vinyl LP | 400 edition (sold out)
  • Pink in Clear Vinyl LP | 200 edition
  • Purple Splatter Vinyl LP | 300 edition
  • Opaque Pink Vinyl LP | 500 edition
  • Black Vinyl LP | (sold out)
  • Compact Disc


  1. Eudaemonia
  2. The Problem With Redheads
  3. Us Now
  4. Marilyn
  5. False Moon
  6. Creepy Love
  7. 694 MI
  8. Fall