"Unarian Dances"


Product Options

About "Unarian Dances"

Drab Majesty is the project of Deb DeMure, the androgynous alter-ego of L.A.-based musician Andrew Clinco and partner Mona D. With its combination of reverb-drenched guitars, synth bass lines, commanding vocals, and rhythmic drum machine beats, this project is a stark departure from Clinco’s previous stints as drummer in Marriages and Black Mare. Dubbed “Tragic Wave” and “Mid-Fi” by DeMure, Drab Majesty eloquently blends New Wave and hints of early 4AD with a futuristic originality.

A talented multi-instrumentalist, DeMure composes all of the elements of Drab Majesty. However, rather than taking personal credit for the music, DeMure insists that the inspiration for the songs is received from an other-worldly source and that Deb is merely a vessel through which outside ideas flow inward. But Drab Majesty is more than just a musical project — it’s a methodical experiment in the identity of creativity. The character Deb DeMure is an enigma that eludes all expectations of gender and ego. When DeMure’s imposing 6’ 4” figure assumes the stage, Deb’s playful, harlequin-esque appearance, tempered by an ominous body language, and clashing with the dreamy, ethereal melodies comes across as a web of contrasts. The result is a perfect balance between seemingly conflicting messages, between the high and the low, the drab and the divine.

Drab Majesty's first ever release was the 2012 self-released cassette tape Unarian Dances. Originally limited to 100 copies, tracks from this tape would eventually make their way onto the Completely Careless CD collection as bonus cuts.  Mastered by Josh Bonati with beautiful new packaging by Nathaniel Young. 



  • 0
  • 0
    In A Hotel (Somewhere)
  • 0
  • 0
    Wrecking Ball
  • 0
    Pole Position


  • Pink in Clear Vinyl EP (ltd 200)
  • Pink / Black Splatter Vinyl EP (ltd 400)
  • Bubblegum Pink Vinyl EP (ltd 600)
  • Black Vinyl EP
  • Clear Vinyl EP (ltd 800)
  • Clear Blue Vinyl EP (ltd 600)
  • Clear Red Vinyl EP (ltd 400)
  • Red / Blue / Yellow Vinyl EP (ltd 200)

Release date

May 21, 2021

Catalog No.