"Lost in the Spectacle"


Product Options

About "Lost in the Spectacle"

York Factory Complaint formed in 2009 as a two-piece, but within a year and a half, founding members Ryan Martin and Michael Berdan had worked with live collaborators from Genesis Breyer P-Orridge to Domokos of Future Blondes. The band’s permanent membership also swelled to four with the addition of Theresa Smith and Michael Yaniro. After a series of recordings with the newly expanded lineup, Smith and Yaniro left the group in 2012. Lost in the Spectacle, YFC’s first release for Accidental Guest Recordings, is the result of the original, streamlined duo of Martin and Berdan formalizing the sound of their project in the studio for the first time since the departure of their former bandmates. It’s also the definitive statement of where the band stands today.

Conceived as a sort of sonic embodiment of Martin and Berdan’s increasingly disgusted worldview, Lost in the Spectacle builds around its noisy industrial back- bone with surprising, beat-driven passages and intense, all-too-human vocals. For an album so unrelenting, though, it offers a certain accessibility that’s uncom- mon in contemporary noise music. Lost in the Spectacle is an extended hand, an invitation to the impressive work Martin and Berdan are doing. It’s immediately striking, but repeated listens reveal its depth.

Released on Accidental Guest Recordings


  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0


  • Black Vinyl LP
  • Digital

Release date

July 15, 2014

Catalog No.