"ELpH vs Coil: Worship The Glitch"


Product Options

About "ELpH vs Coil: Worship The Glitch"

"Unexplainable" may well be the best explanation for the members of the UK based electronic outfit Coil. Making a radical shift from intentional accessibility, by means of traditional pop songwriting, to abstract happenstance, Coil had entered into a new phase of their career. Utilising what was then the newest computer technology, digital and analog synthesis and the newly formed idea that something outside of themselves was steering the ship.

During the studio sessions that developed into what would become Worship the Glitch, Coil became aware of random compositions emitting from their equipment and were seemingly at odds with the constant “accidents” that perpetually plagued the recordings.

The band blamed these unintentional emissions on "ELpH": a conceptual being that is one part physical equipment failure and one part celestial fiend… constantly playing the role of trickster by throwing a wrench into Coil’s methodology. Eventually, these accidents and mistakes were embraced by the band and the process of misusing audio software to create intentional "errors" was adopted as a musical technique. The acceptance of the "mistake", and the use of discovered faults as intentional elements slowly became the drive and concept behind the album, thus birthing the title Worship the Glitch.

Originally released in 1995 on Coil’s in-house imprint Eskaton, Worship the Glitch was Coil’s first proper album-length attempt at conceptual ambient composition, with a radical focus on chance. Seamless vignettes of shattered electronics, though ebbing softly and in delicate balance with each other, provide an underlying uncertainty and discomfort to the listener. 

Remastered by engineer Josh Bonati and supervised by Coil's Drew McDowall, Worship The Glitch is expanded onto double vinyl LP and packaged within a matte gatefold jacket with a replica vellum track listing insert and sticker. The compact disc edition in a matte card stock digipack with redesigned packaging. 


    • 0
      Dark Start
    • 0
      Opium Hum
    • 0
      Caged Birds
    • 0
      The Halliwell Hammers
    • 0
      Clorax Hurd
    • 0
      The Halliwell Hammers (2)
    • 0
      We Have Always Been Here
    • 0
    • 0
    • Hydlepark
    • Hysteron Proteron Jewel
    • Decadent & Symmetrical
    • Mono
    • The Halliwell Hammers (3)
    • Anything That Flies
    • Ended


    • Clear Vinyl 2xLP | 200 edition
    • Clear Red Vinyl 2xLP | 500 edition
    • Clear Yellow Vinyl 2xLP | 500 edition
    • Clear Blue Vinyl 2xLP | 600 edition
    • Black Vinyl 2xLP
    • Compact Disc
    • Digital

    Release date

    May 25, 2018

    Catalog No.