"Modern Mirror"

Ships 05.03.24

Product Options

About "Modern Mirror"

Since the 2015 release of Drab Majesty’s debut Careless, and the release of the acclaimed sophomore album The Demonstration the following year, artist Deb Demure and collaborator Mona D. have firmly established themselves amongst the pantheon of dark synth-pop greats, establishing a devoted fan base worldwide with their singular hypnotic sound and mysterious, constantly-evolving presence.

Following intense and extensive touring in support of the first two albums, Drab Majesty escaped to the inspirational landscapes of Athens, Greece to channel the songs for their most ambitious album creation yet: Modern Mirror.

Blowing the dust off the antiquarian myth of Ovid’s "Narcissus", Drab Majesty uses its premise as groundwork for a modern reinterpretation. Each song tells a piece of the story, in which the listener’s own self-identity has become warped and dissociated through rapidly expanding technology, losing touch with the origins of their own personalities. Setting the stage as a romantic saga of antiquity, "A Dialogue" asks the listener if they are truly in love amid a building wash of guitars and reverb. Elements of classic tragedy weigh heavily in the reflection of Modern Mirror in songs like “The Other Side”, possessing a fundamental sound that is energetic, luminous and hopeful. Fusing the sonic aesthetics of predecessors like New Order and The Cure within the cautious instruction of Greek mythology and modern science fiction, Drab Majesty has birthed a hybrid of dreamy malaise, captured for a future moment.

The first single "Ellipsis," romantically plays up the distorted concept of courting through modern technology in a world that has yet to adapt, while on "Long Division”, Deb’s resounding guitar cascades around the chorus shared with No Joy's Jasamine White-Gluz, wistfully warning us against our vanity and self-obsession. Even when hope for everlasting love peeks through in "Oxytocin", a sparkling and stoic track sung by Mona D., we are firmly reminded our fleeting existence.

Modern Mirror is a journey of self-reflection, nostalgia, love, beauty, and heartbreak told across eight addictive and emotional synth pop anthems – a seemingly classic tale delivered unblinkingly through the frame of the modern world.

Produced by Josh Eustis (Telefon Tel Aviv) and mastered by Dave Cooley, with appearances by Jasamine White-Gluz (No Joy) and Justin Meldal-Johnson (nine inch nails, Beck, M83, AIR). Packaging and design by Juan Mendez (Jealous God/Silent Servant). Photography by Nedda Afsari.

Original Release Date : June 12th, 2019



  • 0
    A Dialogue
  • 0
    The Other Side
  • 0
  • 0
    Noise of the Void
  • 0
    Dolls in the Dark
  • 0
  • 0
    Long Division
  • 0
    Out of Sequence


  • Coke Bottle Clear Vinyl 2xLP | 200 edition
  • Clear Yellow Vinyl 2xLP | 500 edition
  • Clear Blue Vinyl 2xLP | 700 edition
  • Clear Red Vinyl 2xLP | 800 edition
  • Clear Vinyl 2xLP | 1200 edition
  • Black Vinyl 2xLP | 1600 edition
  • Clear / Red Splatter Vinyl LP | 200 edition
  • Black Smoke Vinyl LP | 500 edition
  • Transparent Green Vinyl LP | 800 edition
  • Transparent Purple Vinyl LP | 1000 edition
  • Clear Vinyl LP | 1000 edition
  • Clear / Red / Black Cornetto Vinyl LP | 500 edition
  • Red / Black In Clear Splatter Vinyl LP | 500 edition
  • Clear Red / Black Splatter Vinyl LP | 500 edition
  • Black / Red Cornetto Vinyl LP | 500 edition
  • Black Vinyl LP
  • Compact Disc
  • Digital

Release date

May 03, 2024

Catalog No.