William S Burroughs

Break Through In Grey Room


Inspired by the original Industrial Records release of William S. Burroughs’s Nothing Here Now but the Recordings, Belgian record label Sub Rosa worked with Burroughs to release another album: Break Through In Grey Room. Originally compiled in 1986 by producer Bill Rich, the album features Burroughs's experimental recordings from 1961 to 1976, featuring field recordings by Burroughs of the Master Musicians of Jajouka, experimental collaborations with mathematician Ian Sommerville and painter/cut-up originator Brion Gysin.

Break Through In Grey Room documents William S. Burroughs during his time in Europe and England, working with Ian Sommerville on recording with the 'cut-up' technique. Sommerville's technical background enabled him to contribute to the early development of sound-and-light shows in London, leading to work with gear provided by Paul McCartney in an apartment owned by Ringo Starr. Experimental in nature, the record is as much an exhibition of studio and composition technique as it is a document of underground culture at that time.

For the 2023 reissue, Dais Records has collaborated with the Estate of William S. Burroughs on reissuing the album on vinyl and compact disc, fully remastered by mastering engineer Josh Bonati.

Releasing in tandem with Nothing Here Now but the Recordings

Release Date: April 28, 2023


  • Marble Smoke Vinyl LP | 200 edition
  • White Vinyl LP | 300 edition
  • Clear Vinyl LP | 750 edition
  • Black Vinyl LP
  • Compact Disc


  1. K-9 Was In Combat With The Alien Mind-Screens
  2. Origin And Theory Of The Tape Cut-Ups
  3. Recalling All Active Agents
  4. Silver Smoke Of Dreams
  5. Junky Relations
  6. Joujouka
  7. Curse Go Back
  8. Present Time Exercises
  9. Joujouka
  10. Working with the Popular Forces
  11. Interview with Mr. Martin
  12. Joujouka
  13. Sound Piece
  14. Joujouka
  15. Burroughs Called The Law

please note: this release is CD and vinyl only